Luxe Box Summer 2013

I received 2 beauty boxes in the mail today. Yay! The first one was from Loose Button. I received my very first Luxe Box. The limited edition boxes didn’t really appeal to me, so I just ordered the regular box. As Loose Button had a problem with getting their signature boxes in time, I opted to get the alternative packaging as I’m moving soon and needed it to arrive on time. Instead of the signature box, it arrived in a plain kraft box. Inside was the Loose Button drawstring bag. I’m not sure if it was the alternative packaging, but a couple of my samples were a little banged up. None of the products were damaged inside though.

Here’s the box and everything that was in it:

Photo 2013-07-04 1 29 34 PM Photo 2013-07-04 1 30 54 PM

First thing was a full sized Olay’s Total Effects Tone Correcting CC Cream. It’s 1.7FL Oz (50mL). I looks like it’s $15.99 on Amazon.com. I’m going to value it at $20.00 because we get ripped off here in Canada.

Photo 2013-07-04 1 36 43 PM

I’ve been trying some BB creams, but this is the first CC cream I’ve ever had. It says that it fights 7 signs of aging, including uneven tone, age spots, and wrinkles. It includes a moisturizer and has SPF 15. The sample is light – medium so it might be too light for my summer skin. I’m thinking I’ll wait a couple of months to try this out when I’m a bit paler. I’m also moving from Vancouver to Calgary so my face will need more moisture in Calgary’s dry climate.

The second is Rose 4 Reines Hand Cream. Sample size is 10mL. Full size (30mL) sells for $12.00.

Photo 2013-07-04 1 37 23 PM

This hand cream really smells like roses. It felt okay going on my hands, but I really can’t get past the smell. I’m not a fan of florals and this really wasn’t for me. It also made the skin on my hands react a bit with some redness and burning. I have chronic hives so my skin can be sensitive.

There was 2 fragrance samples in my box. The first one was Calvin Klein’s Euphoria. Sample size is 15mL. Full size (50mL) sells for $69.00.

Photo 2013-07-04 1 45 28 PM

I really didn’t love this one. It smells a bit too floral and heavy for me. The bottle is cute though, and it’s a generous sized sample.

The second fragrance was Donna Karan’s Woman. Sample size is 7mL. Full price for 50mL is $105.00.

Photo 2013-07-04 1 44 54 PM

I liked this one. It’s a bit more my style. The product description states it has “creamy notes of orange flower, that delicately wrap the confident signature core of haitian vetiver and sandalwood”.

Next up is Génefique by Lancôme. Sample size is 8mL. Full size is 50mL at $125.00.

Photo 2013-07-04 1 37 04 PM

I’m excited to try this one. The sample size is quite generous. It a serum to help create more youthful-looking skin with visible results in just 7 days.

Also included is a small 3mL sample vial of Kérastase Elixir Ultime The Imperial. Full size is 125mL that sells for $54.00.

Photo 2013-07-04 1 46 52 PM

It’s a multi-use oil that can be used before and after styling. Provides shine, conditioning and nourishment. I wish the sample size was bigger. I have pretty long hair.

The last samples in the bag were of Vichy’s Liftactiv Serum. I received 4 – 3mL samples. Full size (30mL) sells for $53.00.

Photo 2013-07-04 1 46 27 PM

It’s supposed to be good for all skin types and helps improve all aspects of your skin – wrinkles, firmness, radiance and pores. I’m looking forward to trying this as well. I’m glad they give you 4 samples so you can really get an idea of if it works or not.

The last little bonus item was a Loose Button kabuki brush. It’s pretty soft and looks like it should be a good size for travelling. They value this on the website at $15.00.

Photo 2013-07-04 1 47 32 PM

If my math is right, the total box value is$116.90 based on the retail prices from the Loose Button website. (I valued the Olay CC cream at $20.) Not bad for $26.00 CAD + tax. I think the box is targeted more at women my age (late 30′s) or older. They seem to have a lot of age correcting creams and fragrances that might not appeal to younger women. I liked it enough to keep my subscription and see what’s in the Fall box.

6 thoughts on “Luxe Box Summer 2013

  1. Just stumbled onto your blog. Amazing review! Kinda jealous of your box, not the biggest fan of mine. Too skin care heavy (but no Génefique), even though at 25 I should be happy & use them all up asap. But for the price, the value is impressive. I’ve decided to keep my subscription until fall too. Wasn’t at all sway by the reduced annual price email offer.

    • Just a side note: I couldn’t find any follow buttons on your site (or maybe I just missed it?). I’ve found bloglovin to be a really great tool for that. Having the button on your home page makes it extra easy for your readers to keep up with every entry the second you publish them. And it’s a great way to keep track of your favourite blogs no matter where they are hosted (wordpress, blogger, etc).

    • Thanks for the tip on bloglovin. I’m completely floating around semi-homeless and between provinces right now so I will hopefully be settled and can check it out soon. The value is really good in the Luxe Box. I’m getting older so I can use all the skin care products they give me. I also have a problem with some perfumes so I asked them to give me a fragrance free box next time. Can’t wait to see what’s in it.

  2. I am in love with my Vanilla Shake lotion from Barefoot Venus that I got in my luxe box, I did not get the Rose 4 cream. Did you get the offer for 20% off at Barefoot Venus online?

Leave a Reply

